How it works
The Omni sidebar is made of built-in groups and, optionally, custom groups you add. Each group contains items, which can point to a built-in Omni page, an external link, or an existing piece of content in the organization:Built-in items only exist in built-in groups. Custom groups can only contain external link and content items.
Default sidebar
Omni’s default sidebar contains four built-in groups: Home, Personal, Shared, and All. These groups always exist and can’t be removed or reordered, and Home always appears first. Custom groups you add can be reordered among themselves and always appear after Home. See Navigating Omni for more information about the built-in pages.Requirements
Organization Admin permissions are required to access and modify sidebar settings.Creating a custom sidebar
An Omni organization can have one custom sidebar in use at a time. Customizing it starts from the default sidebar: add custom groups and items, then reorder and relabel them to match your organization’s needs. Your changes stay in a draft until you save them.Adding groups
Adding a group creates a custom group. Built-in groups (Home, Personal, Shared, and All) can’t be added or removed. To add a new custom group:- In the sidebar, click Settings > Sidebar.
- Click + Add group.
- Enter a display label for the group.
- Add items to the group.
Group titles and visibility
Every group, built-in or custom, has an optional title. Once a group has a title, click the eye icon next to it to show or hide the group’s header in the sidebar. By default, the Personal and Shared groups are titled “Personal” and “Shared,” but their headers are hidden, so the default sidebar doesn’t display any group headers.For the Personal and Shared groups, the title is also the name of the space. If you change the title, Omni uses the new name everywhere it refers to the space: the Share dialog, folder location chips, the activity feed, breadcrumbs, and content search. This applies whether or not the group’s header is visible in the sidebar.
Adding items to groups
You can only add items to custom groups. Built-in groups already contain their full set of items and can’t be added to. To add a new item to a custom group:- In the group, click to open the add menu.
- Choose an item type:
- External link - When prompted, specify a Label and URL, and whether the link should open in a new tab.
- Content - When prompted, select the content from the content picker.
When content that isn’t shared with the organization is selected, a Some members badge will display next to the content item. Users that don’t have access to the content won’t see it in the sidebar.
- Optional. Enter a display label for the item. Leave empty to use the default label.
- Optional. Click the icon to the left of the item’s display label to select a custom icon, or click Remove icon to restore its default.
Reordering items and groups
Built-in groups and their items can’t be reordered or moved. Only custom groups and their items can be reordered:- Drag a custom group or one of its rows by its handle to reorder it. Items can be reordered within their existing custom group or moved to a different custom group.
- You can also move a custom group by clicking its icon and selecting Move up or Move down. Custom groups always stay after the Home group.
Editing items
To update an existing item, click its icon. The options in this menu depend on the item type:- Built-in - If you customized the display label, select Reset to defaults to use the default label instead. This option is disabled if the item’s display label hasn’t been customized.
- External link - Select Edit link to update the item’s label, URL, or how it opens when clicked.
- Content - Select Edit to change the content the item links to.
If you specify a custom label for a built-in item, the label will be used everywhere else it appears in Omni. For example, the Share dialog, page titles, browser tabs, etc.
Deleting items
Built-in groups and their items can’t be deleted. To delete a custom group or one of its items, click its icon and select Delete. Deleting a custom group also deletes all the items it contains.Saving and discarding changes
Changes are held in a draft scoped to your browser session until you save them, so reloading the page doesn’t lose your changes. When finished, click Save to apply the customized sidebar to your organization. To delete the changes and revert to the last saved sidebar, click Discard.Undoing and redoing changes
You can undo and redo changes in the sidebar editor using the toolbar buttons or keyboard shortcuts:- Toolbar - Click the (undo) or (redo) icons in the page bar.
- Keyboard shortcuts - Press
⌘Z(Mac) orCtrl+Z(Windows) to undo,⇧⌘Z(Mac) or⇧Ctrl+Z(Windows) to redo.
History clearing
Your undo/redo history starts fresh when you: If you reopen a restored session draft, its content is kept, but its undo/redo history starts empty.Exporting a sidebar
Exporting a sidebar copies a sidebar’s JSON configuration to your clipboard. Click the icon near the top right corner of the page, then Export.Importing a sidebar
To import a sidebar:- Click the icon near the top right corner of the page.
- Click Import.
- Paste a sidebar exported from this page.
- Click Import.
- Optional. Change the layout in the editor if needed.
- When finished, save your changes.

