Skip to main content
Revoking user memberships is not reversible. Read this guide carefully before revoking a user’s membership.
When a user’s membership to your Omni instance is revoked, the following occurs:
  • Deliveries created by the user move to the trash. An Organization Admin can restore a delivery from the trash and assign it to a new owner. Deliveries that aren’t restored must be re-created by another user to continue.
  • Content in the user’s Personal folder is accessible to Organization Admins through search. Content outside of the user’s Personal folder will not move.
  • API Keys
    • PATs are disabled.
    • Organization API keys will remain active. Requests to endpoints which require context about the user taking action may fail if the user is revoked.
Even if the user is re-added to your Omni instance with the same name and email, their previous history, permissions, content, etc. will not be associated with them. It will be as if they are a brand new user.
To reduce a user’s access without revoking their membership, consider converting them to an external user.

Preparation checklist

Before you revoke a user’s membership, complete the following:
1

Move any content in the user's Personal folder to a different location

Prior to being revoked, Organization Admins can impersonate the user to directly access this folder and move its content.You can also use the Analytics dashboard to identify the content the user owns, including documents in their personal folder.
2

Transfer or re-create any necessary schedules created by the user

To find the schedules created by the user, navigate to Settings > Deliveries and apply a filter for the user.Select the schedules and use the Transfer ownership action to assign them to another active organization member, either one at a time or in bulk. See Transfer ownership for more information.Alternatively, you can use the transfer ownership API to programmatically transfer ownership.
After the user is removed, Organization Admins will still be able to find and access the user’s Personal content using search or the Analytics dashboard. Schedules not transferred before removing the user are placed in the Trash, where an Organization Admin can restore and assign it a new owner.